Tartarus

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Underworld Of Lightly (& Logically) Moderated Discussion & Debate

+3
Wizz
Allan
Tikva
7 posters

Electroconvulsive Therapy

Tikva
    Tikva
    Nymph
    Nymph

Electroconvulsive Therapy Empty Electroconvulsive Therapy

Post  Tikva Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:15 pm

NB: I do not want any virtual 'hugs', sympathy, empathy, attention, or anything even remotely related from anyone who responds to this post. I am desperate, and I just need people who know more about, have known someone who had it, or just balanced information on Electroconvulsive Therapy.

Simple fact is that I have come to a place where I can no longer feel or see hope, find it hard to leave the house, sometimes feel numb, other times like I'm going crazy, and then others when I just cry and beg for a way out. I have been fighting the Depression, Anxiety, and PTSD for so very many years, and I am completely exhasted. I am under the care of a Psychiatrist, who is aware of this hole I'm in, and also that it is getting worse. So, I am seriously considering asking for Electroconvulsive Therapy, and would like any advice, information, etc. that can help me make an informed decision. Yes, I have googled and have downloaded some medical information, but hoped that others here might be more 'personally' informed, if that makes sense.

TIA.
    Allan
    Allan
    Nymph
    Nymph

Electroconvulsive Therapy Empty Re: Electroconvulsive Therapy

Post  Allan Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:31 pm

Tikva wrote: Yes, I have googled and have downloaded some medical information, but hoped that others here might be more 'personally' informed, if that makes sense.

TIA.

I would think your doctors and 'google' would be a better source of info than this small forum. I may be wrong , but I don't think many here have had shock therapy and as such couldn't really give you a personal view.
    Wizz
    Wizz
    Nymph
    Nymph